I have not been able to get to the server from home all weekend. Seems to be some sort of name server problem, as right now I am connected from a remote location on a different ISP. Still not sure if it is a DNXS problem on the server side or on my ISP’s side. I find it interesting that EL is the ONLY site I can’t seem to connect to. I have not had trouble with anything else. Could my ISP be blocking me from my own site? That would be strange I think.

Anyway, if you have wondered why there have not been many updates, that is the reason. It’s quite frustrating to be honest. I don’t even have a way to post the Instance show tonight, well not an easy way anyway. I suppose it will work from the office tomorrow, so I will be able to post a comic and the RSS in the morning. Makes me feel naked and alone. :)

Posted in: Site News

Discussion (27) ¬

  1. Rob

    I was wondering :)

  2. Darksider

    Hehehe… Owned.

  3. mYstline

    Its a conspiricy theory imho. Their trying to stop you updating your site so you can have a real life. Dont give in.

  4. Flamov

    It’s the Chinese Scott… they eat your internets

  5. Kainti

    Well you already know my theory.

    Mac.

  6. Mike

    A friend of mine had the same problem. He couldn’t access anything from his own server but everyone else could. The problem just disappeared on its own. Try cleaning your cache.

  7. Mike

    Kainti, so you think Mac is the problem? I’m on Mac and never had the problem before and my friend who had the same problem was on Windows. So my theory is clean your cache or its ISP problems.

  8. Samantha Jane

    Quick everyone invite your friends over! Dad’s not here to stop the party!

  9. Kainti

    Mike – I’m teasing.

  10. NeuroMan42

    Hacker!!!

  11. DealinBurgers

    I’m in your website, stopping your updates.

    mwahaha

  12. Rodrigo

    hahaha Nice Samantha…

  13. azn_ninja_skills

    oooo, naked and alone Scott Johnson…o.O

  14. Darth_yoda (UK)

    Macs suk.

  15. Dan

    We feel naked and alone without you, too!

  16. fesworks

    Naked and Alone is the worst kind of naked :(

  17. Tonesbroke

    Put some clothes on you’ll poke someone’s eye out!

  18. Kimari

    Naked and surrounded by people laughing would be worse… At least I think so… not that ever happened to me…

  19. Atrox_Chobatsu

    I’ve had the same problem… only that Google and MajorGeeks can’t be accessed… not even on my Wii. How can this be fixed?

  20. Hannes

    You could try writing down the ip (or host internal path) for future things like this.

  21. Darth_yoda (UK)

    I would suggest speaking to your hosting provider, which is probably your ISP. You could also try switching browsers, sometimes that makes a difference. If you have any firewall software, try turning that off for a short while.

  22. Io

    I wonder if you switched over to OpenDNS would it resolve (but I don’t know what DNXS is, so I might be talking out my behind).

  23. Kevin

    It works here, but when I resolve the address (myextralife.com) I get http://70.86.172.220/ . And that leads me to some strange site? Weird…

  24. Gil

    IT’S ALIVE. THE SITE IS ALIVE!

    OH THE HUMANITY!!!

  25. I Ludicrous

    Add the following line to your HOSTS file:

    70.86.172.220 http://www.myextralife.com

    In Windows, that file is in %windir%\sytem32\drivers\etc
    In *nix (probably including OS X), it’s in /etc

    Use a plain-text editor which does not append a filename extension (e.g., not written by Microsoft is suitable, although Notepad can be tricked into saving it as hosts. ).

    And then don’t forget what you’ve done if you ever move the site.

  26. I Ludicrous

    Oh, and being naked and alone is.. Well, pointless, and pathetic, if you’re not taking a shower.

  27. Darth_yoda (UK)

    I agree with KEVIN. The myextralife IP is shared with some weird german site. The german site is owned by http://www.theplanet.com which is Scott’s ISP. Be advised that the Netcraft anti-phishing toolbar gives this site (http://70.86.172.220/ ) a 10/10 RISK rating for phishing or other related scams. The same IP is this:
    http://www.zerennetwork.com/

    Rather odd…